Music Scores – #7: Konichiwa Bitches by Robyn.


Song: Konichiwa Bitches
Artiste: Robyn
Album: Robyn

There’s no one hit wonder factor about Robyn. Yeah yeah yeah, fuck the media. They always make it seem like an artiste is totally unsuccessful after they vanish after a single – take Macy Gray for instance. After “Show Me Love” was big in 1995/1996, she released several other albums and totally ‘disappeared’ from the main stream public scene. But she came back; bigger and better, with a number one single in the UK with Kleerup – “With Every Heartbeat”.

This song features Robyn in a bit of a hip-hop position, rapping as though she’s black and in the game for a while. And the lyrics are killa, to prove:

“Cause I’ll hammer your toe
Like a pediatrician
Saw you in half
Like I’m a magician
Tear you down
Like I’m in demolition
Count you out
Like a mathematician”

“Cause my flava is so sweet
You’ll be zoom, zoom, zoom
Don’t even get me started
on my bada-boom-boom
One left, one right, that’s how I organize ’em
You know I fill my cups no need to supersize ’em
Right now you probably thinking how she get in them jeans
Well I’m gifted all natural and bursting the seams”

“I’m so very hot that when I rob your mansion
You ain’t call the cops, you call the fire station”

Now, that just sounds so Singaporean.

Leave a Reply

