Souls.18

Even though the crowd wasn’t big, they still stared, in fascination; I knew they laughed, were talking about me, but I had my music on blast, and I couldn’t hear a thing beyond. They can go say whatever they want for whatever they want, and I don’t really care.

I am a working class adult, a businessman, a smart person. It just happened that tonight, I somehow forgot to bring my outfit for exercising, and had no intentions to just head upstairs, grab them, and come back down again. Furthermore, I was only interested with the trendmill tonight. And so, when the world outside was falling into its own shades of blue, black, I entered the gym. Not a lot of people were around at that moment; just a couple of chit-chatting aunties in the weightlifting session with light dumbbells; a young man of early twenties at the levers section, and that was about it. And I, I was in business outfit, of a nice striped shirt, tied, pure black pants, and trendy formal shoes.

And I started running. The world moved with me, and I liked the feeling. I felt like I was in control, and I was. I could feel a light breeze, even though I was, in a sense, stationary, and in a fully air-conditioned environment. Still, I knew the world changed; time had actually went by.

They said it was a dog-eat-dog world out there, and it was tough, and it sure was.

*

Leave a Reply

