Bloglight: #1

I have this – how do I say it? – crush? admiration? desire? quirky taste? (choose one, readers) for Swedish acts.

Off the top of my head, Jens Lekman, Maia Hirasawa, A Camp, The Cardigans, Jose Gonzalez, The Knife, Robyn, Taken By Trees, Peter Bjorn & John, The Hives, Lichtenstein and more. Okay, to be honest, I Wiki-ed most of them, but hey! – the first two were really, honestly, off the top of my head. And now, to add to the list: Jenny Wilson.

Off her second album “Hardships!”, this video for “Like A Fading Rainbow” is shot in a natural tropical environment, makes me think about ritual and enchants me to sign up for whatever religion it is all about. Voodoo, maybe. I love how she began with the lyrics of “No, no more sugar left; no more soap to clean my hands; with no songs for the choir…”; and how the video progresses into the night as in coordination with the song’s melody.

She had previously worked with Robyn and The Knife on their EP and album respectively.

Website: here
Myspace: here
Facebook: here

Leave a Reply

