Lunchtime

I sat down there,
in the awkward seconds that continued;
the distance splitting you and I,
and yet we don’t even know one another;
I talked to the surroundings,
yet I was in observance of you are;
in the everchanging crowd,
you were the prominent figure;
I noticed that your hands were shaking,
from the hard labour job that you’re carrying out;
You were wearing that gold ring,
Was it that special engagement with your man?
I remembered S’s words,
then of the ways;
I will always say nasty things,
but like M, we’ll all be there;
I had wanted to clear the mess up,
but didn’t want to be too big a scene;
sorry for the table left behind,
to you I am just another of others.

Leave a Reply

