R.I.P.s Michael Jackson (1958-2009); Farrah Fawcett (1947-2009); Sky Saxon (1946-2009); Ed McMahon (1923-2009)

For the newest post, please refer two entries down.

Michael Joseph Jackson
(1958-2009)

How is the world supposed to, when it is missing you, MJ?

I woke up this morning to an annoying son of a neighbour (still a neighbour) singing/saying “Hallelujah”, possibly on the microphone. In annoyance and seek of revenge, I switched on the TV, tuned into MTV, and blasted on the volume. I felt a little satisfaction, and switched on my mobile for the day; that was when I received a text message from my sister, spilling the shocking news that would have been heavily, thoroughly covered on the news over media sources all around the world. The next news update was at 1000 hours, but the newsbar at the bottom of the screen confirmed my own world’s early speculations. It was then reported, a case of heart attack.

I had actually thought of this happening before, but not in a bad way. I was thinking who would make as big an impact as Elvis’s death thereafter, and the one person I thought of was you. I visualized people walking down endless streets, banners everywhere, grieving and signs of deep-felt sorrow on the faces of everyone, flowers thrown about. I even had and still have a creepy feeling that there would be some people who will commit suicide, end their lives over the death of you. And now that it happened, my thinkings have become stronger.

I thought of coming online to post an entry dedicated to you, straight up and publish it straightaway; to read some news about you; to check out Wikipedia to see the official page of you (a task I’ve found myself to be doing whenever someone famous dies); see how the world is reacting on a day without you. I felt like I could’ve written so much more about you, and thus this far may or will not be the finalized post; it is more of something straight off the top of my head. I tried to find the disc belonging to my sister that I used to listen to on afternoons when no one was around but to no avail. And I am usually not online at this point in time.

I walked this part of the world, and news must have gotten on, but lives continued. People were about doing their own things; several people on the subway looked sad, no idea from what; maybe the current flu crisis, maybe how tough life is getting on to be; maybe it was from the death. Call me crazy, but I just have an urge to pet them and say, “Long Live the King”, even though that might not be who was in their minds, and that they might react with a “WTF?” face.

In the interview room, they mentioned on the topic of current events, and despite not being in the relevant zone of political issues, I nonetheless brought up the topic and mentioned it.

Dear Michael, you have gone to a place where it don’t matter if you’re black or white.

Farrah Leni Fawcett
(1947-2009)

Her death was definitely overshadowed by that of the prior artiste, but let’s not forget about other important persons that passed on on this day in time. One-third of the original cast, she rose to international fame as a fictional private investigator character Jill Munroe in the TV series Charlie’s Angels. She headed into the media industry in the late 1960s as a model for TV commercials. Subsequently, she hit it big off-Broadway and continued to gain critics’ approvals. She was diagnosed with anal cancer since 2006.

Sky Saxon
(1946*-2009)
(* – unconfirmed)

Richard Marsh, known for his onstage persona as Sky Sunlight Saxon, the lead singer of The Seeds, a rock band best known for hit single “Pushin’ Too Hard” released in 1966. His musical influence included Mick Jagger from The Rolling Stones and Muddy Waters.

Also: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/entertainment/view/438170/1/.html

Do I have a feeling but seemingly all these good ones are all taken away from the cruelties of this world?

The stars and their MJ tribute messages on Twitter:
@Ladyhawke
@Erol Alkan
@Diplo
@Q-Tip
@Dirt Nasty
@Richard XL
@Sam Sparro
@Peter Facinelli
@David Archuleta
@Mariah Carey
@Boy George
@John Legend
@Sara Bareilles
@Pete Wentz (Fall Out Boy)
@Emmy Rossum
@Lady Sovereign
@Mika
@Travis Barker (Blink 182, +44)
@Samantha Ronson
@Ashlee Simpson
@Jessica Veronica (The Veronicas)
@Lisa Veronica (The Veronicas)
@Dita Von Teese
@Ashley Tisdale
@Jewel
@Nick Cannon
@Larry King
@Denise Richards
@Pink
@Delta Goodrem
@Nicky Hilton
@Kelly Osbourne
@Jane Fonda
@Mark Hoppus (Blink 182)
@Alicia Keys
@M.I.A.
@Swizz Beatz
@Solange Knowles
@Daniel Merriweather
@Mike Skinner (The Streets)
@Joel Madden (Good Charlotte)
@Demi Moore
@John Mayer
@Paris Hilton
@Lily Allen
@Ashton Kutcher
@Britney Spears
@Miley Cyrus
@Ryan Seacrest
@Wale
@P Diddy
@Ellen DeGeneres

Leave a Reply

