Music Reviews: #60 – Weekends

Runs an experiment on whether a track meant for the weekend, with the word ‘weekend’, really avoids the axe-ism of criticism.

Cover, Song, Artiste & Album

Review & Rating

Ready For The Weekend
Calvin Harris
Ready For The Weekend

One radio; two ladies; one office – they like to blast English music, and sometimes from my side, I can hear some sounds – this track is one.

A good weekend anticipation, what with all the repetitive chorus to make you contagiously sing-along to. However, I don’t think it really break much new grounds for Calvin Harris, artistically.

 

2.5-stars rating

The Weekend
Michael Gray featuring Shena

Prior and after this, I never really did know much about Michael Gray, except for the obvious fact that he is a DJ. (D’oh)

Yes, I think I heard of the after-single “Borderline”, but in the fast pace world of the music world, he became less known on the mainstream, and probably more dissolved into the UK DJ-clubbing scene.

Nonetheless, I remember liking it pretty much back when it was released in 2004. It is a sure weekend banger, whatever that may mean.

3-stars rating

I Love The Weekend
No Kids
Come Into My House

The genius lyrics in the chorus of “I love the weekend; I love the crickets”;

the great combustion of musical instruments;

the joy of the band’s name of having no stranger kids around;

isn’t it all awesome?

3-stars rating

Conclusion: Weekend is like a drug.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

