Kings Of Convenience, 18th March 2010.

(19th March’s concert, as taken and uploaded by Youtube user purplesneaker

Three (You can see how long due this entry is) Four months after the Kings Of Convenience came and left our shores for a two-nights performance at the Esplanade for the Mosaic event, I think it is a good say to judge how the show was from my own perspective and memories from it (as well as how delayed I was in coming up with post entries in recent times). Some keywords flashed across my brainwaves: being seated with mild-hyped fans who giggled or were making a wild guess who the empty seat between groups belonged to, and whom were part of my effort to get my lazy after-work arse off the seat; encore song of “I’d Rather Dance With You”, now a truly classic; a lackadaisical audience and much efforts from Erlend Øye and Eirik Glambek Bøe.

Maybe it was my after-work exhaustion myself, but I did not feel any perk of atmospheric unanimously from the crowd of audience I found myself with that night, sharing the concert hall in an enclosed space with the band. Generally, I felt that the response was there solely just to reply, as though only if necessary, to the conversations the band was trying to engage the audience with. It might be due to the matter that the Kings Of Convenience subconsciously, naturally, attracted a certain type, group or classification of audience – they are the silently quiet-appreciative type of people, whom rather remained silent to watch the show on rather than make a big hype out of matters. Also, it may be so that their music, in a way, demands listeners to be more of the chilling kind – to relax, take their minds off matters that bothered and lingered in life, and just… musicified. However, I do believe the lads themselves would have given anything to have a crowd with more enthuasiam, more zest and more energized. There, I have said it.

Playing mostly new tracks off their latest record, “Declaration of Dependence”, it’s amazing to find people that I was sitting with mouthing, singing along to the tracks, as though they had co-written them or had just memorized every single word moments prior to the concert. The encore, closing track for the night, the popular “I’d Rather Dance With You”, got the audience (with much effort from KOC) standing and tapping both their hands and feet. The echoes were loud, the movements swaying.

Another moment for me was when they covered Big Star’s major hit “Thirteen”. Though I do not know much about the 1970s band, I did heard of this hit before. The day prior to this, on 17th March 2010, the lead singer of Big Star, Alex Chilton, passed away from heart attack, and KOC had decided to play tribute by covering. I thought it was rather emotional to hear it live and there, with the simplicity of the acoustic melody, with the raw vocals of Eirik against a backdrop of darkness surrounding and the spotlight focused on him.

Brilliance. And yes, if one has to get it out of me, it was a little teary, in a nice way.

Next up, on long-overdue reviews: Peaches and Rollopoloosley.

Leave a Reply

