A Struggle For A Year End’s List: My 2011′s Most Played (Lazy Man’s Method) (Part 6)

Still tryna make it to 50!

Earlier bits (in no particular order of placement):
Part 1: here
Part 2: there
Part 3: where
Part 4: ooh
Part 5: what

.29

“Lust For Life”
Girls

I pity the girl in the EP cover. I mean, unless she’s a loose woman or a nutcase (we all are sometimes, I’m stereotyping here), I don’t really want to be on a cover with a song title like this. I still believe women to be of the traditional kind, like in those 1930s-era Hong Kong dramas, and not the one with the tremendous amount of backstabbing between queens and concubines. I do know some people in my life that fit the categories of “sluts” and “next in line please”, but I’m only saying. That said, she does looked drugged in the cover.

I am also impressed that in the video, there are quite a lot of adolescence love, free boobs and Hunx’s penis used as a microphone. The video definitely fits the bill of no one I know in life, but that of the song – of craziness, freedom and young times, capturing the essences of them all. It’s a short song of 2:25″, and I am gonna post almost the whole lyrics here, cause it’s insanely beautiful:

Oh, I wish I had a boyfriend
I wish I had a loving man in my life
I wish I had a father
Maybe then I would’ve turned out right
But now I’m just crazy, I’m totally mad
Yeah I’m just crazy, I’m fucked in the head
And maybe if I really tried with all of my heart
Then I could make a brand new start in love with you

Oh, I wish I had a suntan
Oh, I wish I had a pizza and a bottle of wine
Oh, I wish I had a beach house
Then we could make a big fire every night
Instead I’m just crazy, I’m totally mad
Yeah I’m just crazy, I’m fucked in the head
And maybe if I really tried with all of my heart
Then I could make a brand new start in love with you

By the way, to clarify, Girls are a males only band, so the starting of the lyrics – totally gay! Fags!

See Hunx’s cock here, another time (cause maybe it is really microphone-material):

.30

“I’ll Take Care Of U”
(Bobby Bland cover)
Gil Scott Heron & Jamie xx

I feel ashamed – I kept saying that I love this original, but it is indeed a cover of a 1959 song. Still, I think it has its standout point from the current Drake/Rihanna collaboration. Gil Scott Heron, who passed away just this year (2011, since that is the year in review), may he rest in peace. His vocals are deep, of depth, maturity, seniority, experience and sophistication all wrapped up in one package, even though one didn’t ask for it, and it suits the theme of the song perfectly – of love, responsibility, the promise and agreement of taking care of another’s life into one’s own hands. How sweet and romantic! Melt motherfuckers, melt!

Jamie xx can’t do no wrong either. Part of the trio that makes a beautiful splash of debut in 2009, his injection here feels like a match made in heaven, an ecstasy pill at the tip of the tongue. It is like the ears know when it hears good music and a good pairing of different genres made into one, in the wondrous jungle of music.

.31

“Video Games”
Lana Del Rey

Yes, yes, yes, a little too hyped up now, a little too overplayed and overkilled now, all indie hippy and all now, but it manages to creep into mainstream, and her voice and emo-ness is so sorrowful that it makes one wanna go and die. Maybe a little too much, though.

.32

“Lahaha”
Shugo Tokumaru

Anyway, on a positive note now (after Lana Del Rey’s depressive ways), this song is all bright and sunshine, of endless boundaries, clear blue skies and nice green grass patches in the jungle/forest to lie on (still wanna do it like a fetish of my own). Whatever the dreams, accomplish them anyway! And what can be more addictive than laughter itself in music, and delivered in a language I don’t know of? Just make me wanna laugh along silly to it, excellent job done there, Shugo; even though it makes me look like a psycho, especially when I hear this track on-the-go.

And OMFG, the happiest song of 2011 has an official music video to it!

.33

“Lighthouse”
NewVillager

On the topic of dreams, this is kinda like another song about accomplishing them, if not now, then when? Not the first song I have heard of this tentatively newcomer group, which was “Rich Doors”. And definitely not to be confused with the soloist Villagers. Take a look at their video below for this song, using textiles and materials to create costumes uniquely and creatively of their own, and who needs the attention seeking ways of Lady Gaga anymore, anyway?

.34

“Never Wanna Let You Go”
Darren Garvey

So lush, so lounge, so male-female vocalist collabo. Can easily fit into the Lush 99.5FM playlist anytime. Don’t copy me, jackass.

.35

“All Eyes On You”
St Lucia

St Lucia can be considered a new act of 2011, with roots all the way from South Africa. Yet, he has a familiar sound to him, as though one has heard of him before, or an act or a band that relates well, but just quite can’t visualize at this particular moment, and it frustrates the fatherfucking mind off one’s head trying to figure this out. I definitely have moments like these, a lot.

Or maybe it is like a 1980s feel track, and just make me feel nostalgic, as though I can remember anything of that era when the most I was is at 4-y.o. The creeps that music can do to a poor soul like me.

And oh-my-fucking-God (a second time in a row in this post, just for the visual and special effects), his songs are now still fucking downloadable, so grab a copy of the mp3 below (don’t say I say):

(to be continued)

Leave a Reply

