Instead/Of.

I may be smiling, but it doesn’t mean I’m happy.
I may appear relaxed, but it doesn’t mean I’m not fighting.
I may seem nice, but think twice.
The wrongs a person done seems more magnified if it is not expected of him; yet, he craves to be found, understood.
I write about music, but don’t presume I like writing.
I may go with the flow, but please don’t believe I’m in tune with it.
I may look confident, but I need to stop pretending to be.
I may seem young, but my mind is oldfucked.
I may be young, but my hands are shaking.
I may sleep late, but sometimes all I really want is a good sleep.
I may appear popular, but I really feel lonely inside.
I may appear only for a while, but I am looking for a long time.
I may be older than the children of tomorrow, but I am still learning.
I may be full of myself, but I’m still picking up the pieces, and finding myself more.
I may go by the books, but I am looking for boundaries to break.

This is me, now.

Leave a Reply

