Music Reviews: #61 – MC

Mariah goes under the knife.

Cover, Song, Artiste & Album

Review & Rating

I Want To Know What Love Is
Mariah Carey
Memoirs Of An Imperfect Angel

On the good side, this is not too bad.

Now, done with the good side, moving on with the bad ones. This song leaves me gasping for more – more of the original by Foreigner. I remembered a period back when I was pop obsessed, where I would like everything that was pop out there at that moment, and my sister would shake her head and passed negative comments about these kind of covers. I would shrug and thought of it as old-fashioned. Now look where I am.

It felt like there was too much going on in the song, her singing here, her screaming there, her undersized outfit for her body in-yer-face everywhere.

(Album cover)

H.A.T.E.U.
Mariah Carey
Memoirs Of An Imperfect Angel

Image oneself an anti-hero.

The hero is running to a destination, to a person – probably the love interest, on the beach, waves caving in, sand flying everywhere. Rhythmic, romantic, dramatic, or whatever that ticks. Not forgetting the slow-mo.

Then, the hero fell and choked on sand particles. Anti-heroes applaud everywhere.

This song is so slow that it made me feel that way; just can’t wait for something exciting to spring out of somewhere, nowhere at any moment.

Just heard “All I Want For Christmas Is You”. So much better.

Leave a comment